Governing Council and Senior Management

Learn more about the current leadership at the Bank of Canada, or access our list of former senior officers.

Governing Council

The Governing Council is the policy-making body of the Bank. It consists of the Governor, Senior Deputy Governor and four Deputy Governors. It is responsible for monetary policy, decisions aimed at promoting a sound and stable financial system, and the strategic direction of the Bank.

Tiff Macklem


Carolyn A. Wilkins

Senior Deputy Governor

Timothy Lane

Deputy Governor **

Lawrence Schembri

Deputy Governor

Paul Beaudry

Deputy Governor

Toni Gravelle

Deputy Governor

Chief Operating Officer

Filipe Dinis

Chief Operating Officer *

Executive Leadership

Carol Brigham

Managing Director, Funds Management and Banking Department

Coralia Bulhoes

Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer *

Maureen Carroll

Managing Director, Currency *

Sylvain Chalut

Managing Director and Chief Information Officer, Information Technology Services *

Julie Champagne

Managing Director, Corporate Services *

Alexis Corbett

Managing Director and Chief Human Resources Officer, Human Resources *

Jeremy S.T. Farr

General Counsel & Corporate Secretary *

Marc-André Gosselin

Managing Director, Canadian Economic Analysis

Mark Hardisty

Special Advisor

Jeremy Harrison

Managing Director, Communications

Grahame Johnson

Managing Director, Financial Markets Department

Sheryl King


James (Jim) C. MacGee

Managing Director, Economic and Financial Research

Rhys R. Mendes

Managing Director, International Economic Analysis *

Ron Morrow


Carol Ann Northcott

Chief Risk Officer *

Michael O’Bryan

Managing Director and Chief Internal Auditor *

Eric Santor


Jill Vardy

Advisor and Chief of Staff to the Governor and Senior Deputy Governor

Jing Yang

Managing Director, Financial Stability Department *

Senior Management


Michael O’Bryan, Managing Director and Chief Internal Auditor
Naomi Belleau, Deputy Managing Director

Canadian Economic Analysis

Marc-André Gosselin, Managing Director
Russell Barnett, Deputy Managing Director
Robert Amano, Senior Research Director
Brigitte Desroches, Senior Policy Director
Erik Ens, Senior Policy Director
Stefano Gnocchi, Senior Research Director


Jeremy Harrison, Managing Director
Glen Nichols, Deputy Managing Director
Nicholas Galletti, Senior Director

Corporate Services

Julie Champagne, Managing Director
John Robert Fortin, Deputy Managing Director
James Malizia, Senior Director
Trevor Sabean, Senior Director


Maureen Carroll, Managing Director
Yvonne de Lint, Deputy Managing Director
Ted Garanzotis, Senior Director
Pierre Roach, Senior Director

Economic and Financial Research

Jim (James) MacGee, Managing Director
Jason Allen, Senior Research Officer
Oleksiy Kryvtsov, Senior Research Officer
Césaire Meh, Senior Research Officer

Executive and Legal Services

Jeremy S.T. Farr, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Lesley Ryan, Deputy Corporate Secretary and Senior Director
Steve Thomas, Assistant General Counsel

Financial and Enterprise Risk

Carol Ann Northcott, Managing Director and Chief Risk Officer
Jean-François Tremblay, Deputy Managing Director

Financial Markets

Grahame Johnson, Managing Director
Stéphane Lavoie, Deputy Managing Director
Ian Christensen, Senior Director
Cars Hommes, Senior Research Director
Philippe Muller, Senior Director
Virginie Traclet, Senior Director
Harri Vikstedt, Senior Policy Director

Financial Services

Coralia Bulhoes, Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer
Adelle Laniel, Deputy Managing Director
René Lafrance, Senior Director

Financial Stability

Jing Yang, Managing Director
Gino Cateau, Deputy Managing Director
Alexandra Lai, Senior Director
Miguel Molico, Senior Director
Christopher Reid, Senior Director
Yaz Terajima, Senior Research Director

Funds Management and Banking

Carol Brigham, Managing Director
Éric Chouinard, Deputy Managing Director
James Chapman, Senior Research Director
Chris Loken, Senior Director
Marc Normandeau, Senior Director
Scott Hendry, Senior Special Director

Human Resources

Alexis Corbett, Managing Director and Chief Human Resources Officer
Katherine Murray, Deputy Managing Director
Annie Guilbault, Senior Director

Information Technology Services

Sylvain Chalut, Managing Director and Chief Information Officer
Roger Hatch, Deputy Managing Director
Hisham El-Bihbety, Senior Director
Robert Pichette, Senior Director
Ben Sorensen, Senior Director
Erin Trudeau, Senior Director

International Economic Analysis

Rhys R. Mendes, Managing Director
Harriet Jackson, Deputy Managing Director
José Dorich, Senior Policy Director
Lori Rennison, Senior Policy Director
Ben Tomlin, Senior Research Director

True to September 14, 2020

* Member of Senior Management Council
** Chair of Senior Management Council

Past Governors of the Bank

Stephen S. Poloz


Mark Carney


David Dodge


Gordon Thiessen


John Crow


Gerald Bouey


Louis Rasminsky


James Coyne


Graham Towers