Change theme
Change theme

2021 Fellowship Program: Award recipients

The Bank of Canada is pleased to announce the recipients of the Bank’s 2021 Fellowship Award and Governor’s Award.

Fellowship Award

Daniel Trefler
Professor of Economic Analysis and Policy, Rotman School of Management
University of Toronto
An internationally recognized expert on trade and public policy, Professor Trefler's work looks notably at the effects of shifting global value chains, the consequences of China’s rise, and the potential impacts of digitalization on trade in financial and other services. As an advisor to Global Affairs Canada, he helped inform the department's work on the Canada-EU trade agreement. He holds the J. Douglas and Ruth Grant Chair in Competitiveness and Prosperity and is a recipient of the Killam Prize. It is Professor Trefler’s second term as a Fellowship award recipient.

Governor’s Award

Jesse Perla
Assistant Professor, Vancouver School of Economics
University of British Columbia
Assistant Professor Jesse Perla is a macroeconomist with a particular interest in economic growth, financial economics, and machine learning. His work leverages state-of-the-art computational methods to advance knowledge on central questions in economics and help shape how economists look at questions related to innovation, growth and trade. His recent research notably looks at the role of information diffusion and the role of firm heterogeneity in economic growth.