Operational details for upcoming secondary market purchases of Government of Canada securities (September 14-25)

As previously announced, the Bank of Canada (the Bank) launched on April 1, 2020 a program to purchase Government of Canada securities in the secondary market – the Government Bond Purchase Program (GBPP). The GBPP operations for the two-week period beginning September 14 are announced below.

The Bank will conduct the following purchase operations the week of September 14:

  • Monday, September 14 in the 5-year sector
  • Tuesday, September 15 in the short-end sector (less than 2-year).
  • Wednesday, September 16 in the 2-year sector. 
  • Thursday, September 17 in the 30-year sector.
  • Friday, September 18 in the 10-year sector. 

The Bank will conduct the following purchase operations the week of September 21:

  • Monday, September 21 in the 30-year sector. 
  • Tuesday, September 22 in the short-end sector (less than 2-year).
  • Wednesday, September 23 in the 2-year sector. 
  • Thursday, September 24 in the 10-year sector. 
  • Friday, September 25 in the 5-year sector.  

NOTE: all operations will have a T+2 settlement unless otherwise stated.

The secondary market purchases conducted by the Bank should settle with the Bank (CUID: BOCB) and not the Government of Canada.

The Bank will announce specific operational details (size, timing, the basket of eligible securities) at least one day ahead of each operation.

The Bank continues to monitor market developments closely and remains committed to supporting the liquidity and efficient functioning of the Government of Canada bond market.


Director
Financial Markets Department
Bank of Canada
613-782-7723


Director
Financial Markets Department
Bank of Canada
613-782-7245


Bank of Canada
613-782-8782