Operational details for upcoming secondary market purchases of Government of Canada securities (June 8-June 19)

As previously announced, the Bank of Canada (the Bank) launched on April 1, 2020 a program to purchase Government of Canada securities in the secondary market – the Government Bond Purchase Program (GBPP). The GBPP operations for the two-week period beginning June 8 are announced below.

The Bank will conduct the following purchase operations the week of June 8:

  • Monday, June 8 in the 5-year sector.
  • Tuesday, June 9 in the short-end sector (less than 2-year).
  • Wednesday, June 10 in the 30-year sector.
  • Thursday, June 11 in the 2-year sector. 
  • Friday, June 12 in the 10-year sector.

The Bank will conduct the following purchase operations the week of June 15:

  • Monday, June 15 in the 30-year sector.
  • Tuesday, June 16 in the short-end sector (less than 2-year).
  • Wednesday, June 17 in the 2-year sector.
  • Thursday, June 18 in the 10-year sector.
  • Friday, June 19 in the 5-year sector.

NOTE: all operations will have a T+2 settlement unless otherwise stated.

The secondary market purchases conducted by the Bank should settle with the Bank (CUID: BOCB) and not the Government of Canada.

The Bank will announce specific operational details (size, timing, the basket of eligible securities) at least one day ahead of each operation.

The Bank continues to monitor market developments closely and remains committed to supporting the liquidity and efficient functioning of the Government of Canada bond market.


Director
Financial Markets Department
Bank of Canada
613-782-7723


Director
Financial Markets Department
Bank of Canada
613-782-7245


Bank of Canada
613-782-8782