Change theme
Change theme

Bank of Canada Announces Extension of Expanded Swap Facility with U.S. Federal Reserve

To address continued pressures in global U.S. dollar funding markets, the temporary reciprocal currency arrangements (swap lines) between the Federal Reserve and other central banks have been extended to 30 October 2009.

This extension currently applies to the swap lines between the Federal Reserve and each of the following central banks: the Reserve Bank of Australia, the Banco Central do Brasil, the Bank of Canada, Danmarks Nationalbank, the Bank of England, the European Central Bank, the Bank of Korea, the Banco de Mexico, the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, the Norges Bank, the Monetary Authority of Singapore, the Sveriges Riksbank, and the Swiss National Bank. The Bank of Japan will consider the extension at its next Monetary Policy Meeting.

Bank of Canada Action

The Bank of Canada and the Federal Reserve have agreed to extend their expanded US $30 billion swap facility (reciprocal currency arrangement) to 30 October 2009. This expanded swap facility, originally announced on 29 September 2008, was initially set to expire on 30 April 2009.

The Bank continues to judge that it is not necessary for it to draw on this swap facility at this time, but that it is prudent to maintain the agreement. Should the swap be drawn on, the details of the liquidity facilities provided would depend on the specific market circumstances at the time.

The Bank of Canada continues to closely monitor global market developments and remains committed to providing liquidity as required to support the stability of the Canadian financial system and the functioning of financial markets.

For further information, please contact:
Jeremy Harrison
613 782-8782

Content Type(s): Press, Market notices