Minutes of the Canadian Alternative Reference Rate Working Group

Teleconference, 25 May 2020, 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

1. Review of international developments

The co-chairs discussed the ARRC's recent <u>best practices</u> document, which includes target dates for transitioning individual products from LIBOR to SOFR. Members also discussed ARRC's <u>best practices</u> for vendors, which also includes target dates.

Members were updated Oliver Wyman's <u>webinar</u>, in which the UK FCA's Edwin Schooling Latter reiterated the end-2021 timeline for LIBOR's cessation, as well as the UK FCA and PRA <u>announcement</u> on May 13th that they will resume full supervisory engagement on LIBOR as of the beginning of June.

Finally, members discussed the **final results** of ISDA's consultation on pre-cessation triggers.

2. Subgroup updates

The Fallbacks subgroup provided an update on its recent discussions about updating its draft fallback language in light of international developments, including the completion of ISDA's consultation on pre-cessation triggers.

The Transition subgroup noted that it had begun holding calls again and taking stock of members progress and plans towards transition. The Bank of Canada provided updates on its preparations for its 15 June takeover of the administration and publication of CORRA. MX gave an update on its plans to launch a 3-month CORRA futures contract on 12 June, and of a series of webinars that would be published on the MX website. CARR members agreed to publish a market notice welcoming the futures contract.

The Accounting, Tax and Regulation subgroup gave a brief update.

3. Other items

CARR members discussed both the global and domestic benchmark transition.

The next CARR meeting will take place on 29 June 2020 by teleconference.

List of attendees

Market representatives

Douglas Paul, AIMCO John McArthur, Bank of America Merrill Lynch Nick Chan, BMO Capital Markets Mario Pereira, BMO Capital Markets Karl Wildi, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce Louise Stevens, CHMC
Dave Duggan, National Bank Financial
Philippe Seyer-Cloutier, National Bank Financial
Audrey Gaspar, OTPP
Ed Devlin, PIMCO
Eric Ruest, PSP
Jim Byrd, Royal Bank of Canada
Paul Hildebrand, Royal Bank of Canada
Alejandro Stanco, Scotiabank
John Gjata, Scotiabank
Michael Lin, TD Bank

Observers

Jacques Caussignac, TMX

Guests

Ann Battle, ISDA

Bank of Canada

Harri Vikstedt Maksym Padalko Tamara Gomes Zahir Antia Thomas Thorn