7th Joint Bank of Canada and Payments Canada Symposium

The Bank of Canada and Payments Canada would like to invite all central bankers, academic researchers, regulators and practitioners with interest and expertise in payments systems, digital currencies and fintech to participate in the symposium on Shaping the Future of Payments.

The symposium is jointly organized by the Banking and Payments Department and the Financial Stability Department of the Bank of Canada and Payments Canada. The event aims at providing a forum to discuss latest developments in the payments ecosystem and inspire collaborations among policy makers, researchers and market participants that help shape the future of retail and wholesale payments.

The symposium will host a limited number of theoretic and applied research paper presentations and panels to allow ample time for discussion and interaction. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Impacts of innovations and new technologies (e.g., DLT, CBDC, fintech, batch and instant payments)
  • Optimal design of payment systems (e.g., access, tiering)
  • New challenges and the roles of supervision/regulation (e.g., interconnectedness, new fintech/big tech players, enhancing cross-border payments)
  • New tools and applications for payment research and data (e.g., artificial intelligence, machine learning)
  • Implications of COVID-19 pandemic for payments

Paper submissions

Extended abstracts or completed papers should be submitted by email by June 15, 2021. The program committee will select the accepted papers by July 1st, 2021. Final versions of the selected papers are due by August 23, 2021.

Organisational information

The event will be held virtually in the morning and early afternoon of Thursday, September 16, 2021 and Friday, September 17, 2021 Eastern Daylight Time. Timothy Lane, Deputy Governor of the Bank of Canada, and Tracey Black, President and CEO of Payments Canada, will provide the opening and closing remarks.

Program committee

Ajit Desai (Bank of Canada)
Anneke Kosse (Bank of Canada)
Erhao Xie (Bank of Canada)
Francisco Rivadeneyra (Bank of Canada)
Jonathan Chiu (Bank of Canada)
Zhentong Lu (Bank of Canada)
Segun Bewaji (Payments Canada)

Content Type(s): Conferences