OTTAWA – On Monday, May 6, 2019, Stephen S. Poloz, Governor of the Bank of Canada, will speak before the Canadian Credit Union Association and the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce.

Topic

The future of Canada’s mortgage market

Time

13:00 (Central Time), 14:00 (Eastern Time)

Place

RBC Convention Centre
Hall C, South Building, 3rd Floor
375 York Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Lock-Up

At 12:15 (ET), copies of the speech will be made available to journalists, under embargo at the Bank’s head office in Ottawa. The embargo will be lifted at 13:45 (ET). Please use the Bank of Canada Museum entrance, located at 30 Bank Street (corner of Bank and Wellington), and have your press card with you.

For security reasons, those wishing to attend the lock-up must confirm by calling Media Relations at 613-782-8782 before noon (ET) on Friday, May 3, 2019.

Distribution

The Governor’s text will be available at 12:45 (CT), 13:45 (ET) on the Bank’s website.

Media Availability

At approximately 14:30 (CT), 15:30 (ET), the Governor will hold a press conference in Meeting Room 17, North Building, ground floor.

Audience Q&A

There will be an audience Q&A period.

Webcast

Audio and video webcasts of the speech and press conference will be available.

Note

Media wishing to attend are asked to contact Susanne Burnie at 416-232-3419.

For more information, please contact Media Relations at 613-782-8782.