Speech by Stephen S. Poloz, Governor of the Bank of Canada

OTTAWA – On Tuesday, May 1, 2018, Stephen S. Poloz, Governor of the Bank of Canada, will speak to the Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce.

Topic

Canada’s Economy and Household Debt:
How Big Is the Problem?

Time

12:45 (Mountain Time), 14:45 (Eastern Time)

Place

The Explorer Hotel
Katimavik Rooms B and C
4825 49th Avenue
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Lock-Up

At 13:00 (Eastern Time), copies of the speech will be made available to journalists, under embargo, at the Bank’s head office in Ottawa. The embargo will be lifted at 14:30 (ET). Please use the Bank of Canada Museum entrance, located at 30 Bank Street (corner of Bank and Wellington), and have your press card with you.

For security reasons, those wishing to attend the lock-up must confirm by calling Media Relations at 613-782-8782 before noon (ET) on Monday, April 30, 2018.

Distribution

The text of the Governor’s speech will be available at 12:30 (MT), 14:30 (ET):

Press Conference

At approximately 14:10 (MT), 16:10 (ET), the Governor will hold a press conference on the first floor of The Explorer Hotel, in Katimavik Room A.

Audience Q&A

There will be an audience Q&A period.

Webcast

Audio and video webcasts of the speech and press conference will be available.

Note

Media wishing to attend are asked to contact Deneen Everett at 867-920-4944.

For more information, please contact Media Relations at 613-782-8782.

Content Type(s): Press, Media advisories