OTTAWA – On Thursday, March 8, 2018, Deputy Governor Timothy Lane of the Bank of Canada will speak before the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade. 

Topic

Economic Progress Report

Time

12:50 (Pacific Time), 15:50 (Eastern Time)

Place

Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Saturna Island Meeting Room, Discovery Floor
900 West Georgia Street
Vancouver, British Columbia

Lock-Up

At 14:35 (ET), copies of the speech will be made available to journalists, under embargo at the Bank’s head office in Ottawa. The embargo will be lifted at 15:35 (ET). Please use the Bank of Canada Museum entrance, located at 30 Bank Street (corner of Bank and Wellington), and have your press card with you.

For security reasons, those wishing to attend the lock-up must confirm by calling Media Relations at 613-782-8782 before noon (ET) on Wednesday, March 7, 2018.

Distribution

The Deputy Governor’s text will be available at 12:35 (PT), 15:35 (ET):

Media Availability

At approximately 14:10 (PT), 17:10 (ET), the Deputy Governor will be available to answer questions from the media in the Galiano Island Meeting Room, Discovery Floor.

Audience Q&A

There will be an audience Q&A period.

Webcast

Audio and video webcasts of the speech and media availability will be available.

Note

This is the first in a new series of Economic Progress Report speeches scheduled to follow the interest rate decisions that are not accompanied by a Monetary Policy Report. Delivered by members of Governing Council, these speeches will discuss how economic conditions and risks to the inflation outlook have evolved and provide insight into the key issues figuring in the deliberations about the rate decision. All Economic Progress Report speeches will be followed by a media availability.

Media wishing to attend the event are asked to contact Greg Hoekstra at 604-640-5450.

For more information, please contact Media Relations at 613-782-8782.