OTTAWA — On Thursday, March 8, 2018, Minister of Finance Bill Morneau and Bank of Canada Governor Stephen S. Poloz, along with some special guests, will unveil the design of the new $10 bank note featuring Viola Desmond.

The event will be preceded by a Facebook Live town hall with students hosted by the Minister of Finance, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of International Development and their colleagues. The live stream will be available at

After the unveiling event, the Minister of Finance will hold a media availability. Members of the media will also have an opportunity to meet with experts to find out more about the theme and security features of the note. Samples of the note will be available to press photographers and TV crews. There will be no availability with the Governor.

For security reasons, all media must register with the Bank of Canada in advance to attend the event. Broadcast media and still photographers will be allotted space on a first-come, first-served basis, through advance registration. To register, please contact Media Relations by noon (ET) on Wednesday, March 7 at 613-782-8782.


The unveil of the new $10 bank note featuring Viola Desmond


12:00 AT (11:00 ET) for town hall, 12:30 AT (11:30 ET) for unveil ceremony


Halifax Central Library
5440 Spring Garden Road
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Paul O’Regan Hall
(please use the main entrance)


There will be no media lock-up for this event.


The Governor’s remarks will be published on the Bank’s website at 12:45 AT (11:45 ET).

A press release with more information will be available:

  • at 12:45 AT (11:45 ET) on the Bank’s website
  • between 12:45 AT (11:45 ET) and 13:45 AT (12:45 ET) on Cision

Once the note is unveiled, details, including images, will be available on our various social media platforms:

Press Conference

There will be no press conference, but the Minister of Finance will be available after the event for a Q&A session. Other spokespeople will also be available for interviews. There will be no media availability with the Governor.


This event will be webcast live on the Bank’s website and YouTube channel.


Expert Kiosks

At 13:20 (AT), kiosks will be open for journalists to visit and ask questions.

Regional Opportunities

The Canadian Museum for Human Rights (CMHR) in Winnipeg, which has a permanent exhibit dedicated to Viola Desmond, will also hold an event, starting at 10:15 (Central Time). Bank of Canada representatives will be available on-site to answer questions and will have sample bank notes on hand. For more information about this event, please contact CMHR Manager, Communications & Marketing Louise Waldman at 204-289-2113.

In addition to these events, media interviews and photo opportunities with the new bank note can be arranged with regional representatives across the country by contacting Media Relations.

For more information about the town hall, please contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada

For more information about the unveiling event, please contact:

Media Relations
Bank of Canada