OTTAWA – On Wednesday, September 27, 2017, Stephen S. Poloz, the Governor of the Bank of Canada, will speak before the St. John’s Board of Trade.

Topic

The Meaning of “Data Dependence”: An Economic Progress Report

Time

13:30 (Newfoundland Time), 12:00 (Eastern Time)

Place

Holiday Inn St. John’s Conference Centre
Grand Salon room
180 Portugal Cove Road
St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador

Lock-Up

At 10:15 (ET), copies of the speech will be made available to journalists, under embargo at the Bank’s head office in Ottawa. The embargo will be lifted at 11:45 (ET). Please use the Bank of Canada Museum entrance, located at 30 Bank Street (corner of Bank and Wellington), and have your press card with you.

For security reasons, those wishing to attend the lock-up must confirm by calling Media Relations at 613-782-8782 before noon (ET) on Tuesday, September 26, 2017.

Distribution

The Governor’s text will be available at 13:15 (NT), 11:45 (ET):

Press Conference

At approximately 14:25 (NT), 12:55 (ET), the Governor will hold a press conference in the Conception Bay South room, ground floor.

Audience Q&A

There will be an audience Q&A period.

Webcast

Audio and video webcasts of the speech will be available.

Note

Media wishing to attend the event are asked to contact Nancy Healey, CEO, St. John’s Board of Trade.

For more information, please contact Media Relations at 613-782-8782.